EDU510 – Week4: The Game & Emotions

Motivation to learn.gif

This week tackle the significance behind and emotions and motivations

Emotions play a significant part in learning, just as our tangible and intangible motivations justify our willingness to do something for something. Emotions significantly influence how we feel and what factors in our lives and upbringings have shaped our view. In Demetriou and Wilson’s article they quote Arnold Bennett, “There can be no knowledge without emotion” (2008, pg 938). Emotions also have a big impact on our motivation and what drives us to achieve our goals.

I was reading an interesting article and I wanted to share with you the 12 elements of Marc Prensky,which I thought were right on point.

“Computer and video games are potentially the most engaging pastime in the history of mankind. This is due, in my view, to a combination of twelve elements” (http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/Prensky%20-%20Digital%20Game-Based%20Learning-Ch5.pdf):

  1. Games are a form of fun. That gives us enjoyment and pleasure. 
  2. Games are form of play. That gives us intense and passionate involvement. 
  3. Games have rules. That gives us structure. 
  4. Games have goals. That gives us motivation. 
  5. Games are interactive. That gives us doing. 
  6. Games are adaptive. That gives us flow. 
  7. Games have outcomes and feedback. That gives us learning. 
  8. Games have win states. That gives us ego gratification. 
  9. Games have conflict/competition/challenge/opposition. That gives us adrenaline. 
  10. Games have problem solvingThat sparks our creativity. 
  11. Games have interaction. That gives us social groups. 
  12. Games have representation and story. That gives us emotion

Reference: http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/Prensky%20-%20Digital%20Game-Based%20Learning-Ch5.pdf

Marc Prensky identifies 6 elements in which people play games. The below build off each other which stimulate our emotions and our actions to do something intriguing and possibly goal oriented.

1.             Rules 

2.             Goals and Objectives 

3.             Outcomes & Feedback 

4.             Conflict/Competition/Challenge/Opposition 

5.             Interaction, and 

6.             Representation or Story. 

Referencehttp://www.marcprensky.com/writing/Prensky%20-%20Digital%20Game-Based%20Learning-Ch5.pdf

When I was a child, I wanted what tasted good and looked fun to play with. As a child, I did not know what the items cost my parents, which led me to be happy. As I grew up, I learned that there were consequences for everything. Nothing is free and somebody has to pay for all the tangible items that made me happy. There is always a cost associated with happiness and sadness. The thing I learned fairly quickly as a child was what do I want to do for something in the end?  I learned quickly that if I wanted something, I would have to sacrifice something for something else. Its like a game of tug of war; a little of this for some of that. As an adult, I am motivated by intangible things such as time off so that I can rest, and also by generating some sort of capital so that I can support my family’s accustomed lifestyle. If I’m not getting time off from work, I expect to be getting some kind o financial reimbursement.

I feel my motivation is extrinsic more than intrinsic. I want to relocate where the homes are cheaper, as I can get more for my hard earned dollar. Everything, well mostly everything I do is for something tangible. I have very few intangible motivations as I do intrinsic motivators. When I think of intrinsic motivators, I think of feelings, and then I realize that feelings are not going to pay my bills. Something else has to give; and that’s where I realize and understand I do things for something, but not because of how I feel or what I want to feel (if that makes sense).

Professor and class, I was reading another interesting article that coincided with this week’s discussion.

“There are two main sources of motivation. Generally speaking, motivation can come from the outside, such as the motivation to win medals, receive financial rewards, and attract attention from the media. This is known as external, or extrinsic, motivation because it involves participation in sport for some kind of reward that is external to the process of participation. Intrinsic motivation is closely allied to the fundamental motivation to learn and acquire new skills. The building blocks, or psychological needs, that underlie intrinsic motivation are the need to determine one’s behavior (what psychologists term self-determination), the need to feel competent, and the need for relatedness, or to have meaningful relationships with other people. When these basic needs are satisfied, high intrinsic motivation results and athletes are stimulated by their participation in sport; they strive to learn new skills and improve their performance.” (Karageorghis, C. I., & Terry, P. C. (n.d.). Balance intrinsic and extrinsic motivation for success. Retrieved March 30, 2016, from http://www.humankinetics.com/excerpts/excerpts/balance-intrinsic-and-extrinsic-motivation-for-success).

Reference: http://www.humankinetics.com/excerpts/excerpts/balance-intrinsic-and-extrinsic-motivation-for-success

Another great week discussing how emotions play an integral role in learner’s motivation. This is greatly impacted by how we feel and what factors in our lives and upbringings have shaped our view. In Demetriou and Wilson’s article they quote Arnold Bennett, “There can be no knowledge without emotion” (2008, pg 938). Emotions also have a big impact on our motivation and what drives us to achieve our goals. As an adult, I now have a clearer picture of what I want and the steps I need to take to achieve my goals then I did when I was a child. My educational setting in the online classroom, I believe a lot of students are motivated by both intrinsic and extrinsic motivations as reason why they continue their education online as opposed to a traditional classroom. Online learning accommodates students in the areas that they are used to. Currently, we have information at our fingertips in the form of the Internet through cell phones, laptops, and tablets. Online learning allows students to get their degrees in the same way that we get most of our information today

Leave a Reply

